Multiplayer Jigsaw Puzzle Games
Jigsaw Explorer allows you to collaborate with friends and family on the assembly of the same jigsaw puzzle over the internet. Each player sees the moves of the other players on their screens as the group assembles the puzzle together. Any jigsaw puzzle at Jigsaw Explorer, and any custom jigsaw puzzle, can be played as a multiplayer game.
Start a Multiplayer Game
When you begin a jigsaw puzzle you will see the multiplayer button for switching the puzzle to multiplayer mode as shown circled in red below:
When you click the multiplayer button you will be prompted to enter a nickname to identify you to the other players who will join the game. After entering a name, click the "Create Game Link" button to switch the game to multiplayer mode.
After switching to multiplayer mode you will be shown a game link that can be sent (via email, social media, etc) to the other people who you want to invite to join your game. You should record or bookmark the game link since that link is how you will return to the game later if you need to! You can then wait for the other players to join the game, or you can leave the game and use the game link to return at a later time.
When other people receive your game link they can click it to join your game. They will be prompted to enter a nickname to identify themselves within the game. You will then see an alert within the game that notifies you a player has joined your game.
Frequently Asked Questions
Q: Do the people I invite to my multiplayer game need to come to this page to enable the multiplayer feature?
A: No. When you provide your game's game link to another person they simply click the game link to join your game.
Q: How many people can I invite to my multiplayer game?
A: Although you can invite as many people as you wish, a maximum of 20 people can be actively joined to your game at any given time.
Q: Do I need to wait for other the other players to join my game before we start playing?
A: No. When a new player joins your game they will see the progress already made on the puzzle and can begin play.
Q: Can an unfinished multiplayer puzzle be saved and continued later?
A: Yes, progress on multiplayer puzzles is saved automatically. Note that the only way to return to an unfinished multiplayer game is to use the provided game link! Also note that unfinished puzzle progress is automatically deleted after 30 days of inactivity.
Q: What happens to the other joined players if I leave an unfinished multiplayer game?
A: The other players can continue assembling your puzzle after you leave. Anyone with your game link can play your game at any time regardless of whether you are present.
Q: How do I know who is currently joined to my game?
A: You will a small pop-up alert at the bottom of the puzzle window whenever a new player arrives or an existing player leaves. You can also click the puzzle program's timer to see a list of the currently joined players.
Q: I forgot my game link, how do I retrieve it?
A: If you are still connected to the game then you can click the puzzle program's timer to see the game link. Otherwise, you will not be able to return to the unfinished game (this situation will be remedied by future enhancements). Please bookmark or record the game link in case you need it later!
Q: Do game links expire?
A: A game link will remain valid for as long as its game is being actively played. However, if a game link for an unfinished game goes unused for 30 days then the link will expire. A game link will also expire 30 days after its puzzle is completed.
Q: Can I switch a jigsaw puzzle game I have already started to a multiplayer game so other players can help me finish the puzzle?
A: No, jigsaw puzzles already in progress can not be switched to multiplayer mode. If you have already started a puzzle that you now want to play with other people then you can either: 1) Start the puzzle over by changing the number of pieces (i.e., select "Modify this Puzzle" in the puzzle program menu), or 2) Start the puzzle again in a new private browsing window using your browser's private browsing feature. Use of either of those methods will let you start the puzzle as a new puzzle that can then be switched to multiplayer mode.
Q: The "Display edge pieces only" button does not seem to be working properly. What's wrong?
A: The "Display edge pieces only" button only works until the first time two puzzle pieces are joined in a multiplayer game. After that, the button behaves as a "Rearrange" button. This prevents players from disrupting the game for other players by unnecessarily clicking the "Display edge pieces only" button. Note that if only one player is present in the game then the "Display edge pieces only" button will work normally just as it does in a single player game.
Q: Why do I keep getting disconnected from my game?
A: Multiplayer games need a reliable internet connection to work well, although the puzzle program will automatically attempt to reconect you to the game if you become disconnected. If you are connected via wifi then ensure you are positioned where the wifi signal strength is good.
Q: Why can't I create a multiplayer game link?
A: If you click the "Create Game Link" button and you see a spinning circle that doesn't stop, and you are trying to connect through a school or corporate network, then the most likely cause of the problem is your school/corporate network does not support WebSocket connections which are necessary to play multiplayer games. Also note that if your internet connection is routed through a VPN, your VPN provider may not support WebSocket connections.